Medical Marijuana: FAQ
This page was updated on 2/28/2019
The way it works in the state of Connecticut and therefor at iMed Chiropractic is our medical practitioners certify that your condition, and its symptoms, qualify for palliative benefits of medical marijuana. We discuss compounding a new treatment plan moving forward and explain any potential risks involved in the use of medical marijuana during your consultation. Once qualified, you will be immediately approved by an iMed Chiropractic medical provider to receive a medical marijuana card through the state of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.
Not just any medical provider can perform the certification exam in the state of Connecticut. iMed Chiropractic’s medical providers are specially credentialed in compliance with the state of Connecticut’s medical marijuana program and possess extensive knowledge of the benefits of medical marijuana.
Yes you can. iMed Chiropractic will honor our renewal price of $110 however, we will require you to partake in our initial certification process exam as you will be a new comer and need to establish a bona fide physician-patient relationship with our medical physician. iMed chiropractic will committed from that point to the care and treatment of the patient’s debilitating medical condition or a symptom of the patient's debilitating medical condition.
You will need to schedule a renewal appointment and have renewal exam with our iMed Chiropractic certified medical provider before the card expires. This will allow the registration system to process the request initiated by medical providers at iMed chiropractic. You will again receive an email from the CT Department of Consumer Protection’s “DAS Business Network” and will be asked to verify all the previous information that your provided when you initially signed up and make any necessary changes.
The staff at iMed chiropractic be glad to verify your health insurance benefits on your behalf and at no extra charge to you. Once verified we will be able discuss your health insurance coverage.
The amount of medical marijuana will be determined by your iMed Chiropractic medical provider and will not exceed 2.5 ounces a month.
Connecticut law prohibits the use of medical marijuana:
- in the workplace
- in any public place
- on any school grounds or any public or private school, dormitory, college or university property
- in a bus, school bus or any moving vehicle
- in the presence of anyone under the age of 18
- anywhere it may endangers the health or well-being of another person
Yes. An employer may prohibit the use of intoxicating substances during work hours or discipline an employee for being intoxicated while at work.
In order to receive a replacement Medical Marijuana card, you need to contact the state of Connecticut DCP.
You must notify the physician who certified you within five (5) business days.
You may only get Medical marijuana from Connecticut dispensaries. A list is provided here: Connecticut medical marijuana dispensary facilities
You will have to petition the State of Connecticut’s Department of Consumers Protections Board of Physicians to recommend an additional medical condition be added to the list.
The medical provider at iMed Chiropractic will document the need for a care giver and register the request with the state of Connecticut DCP.
To be qualified as a patient's primary caregiver, you must:
- Be 18 years old or older
- Agree to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of the qualifying patient with respect to the palliative use of marijuana
- Have not been convicted of a violation of any law pertaining to the illegal manufacture, sale or distribution of a controlled substance
- Not be the qualifying patient's physician
- In addition, if the qualifying patient lacks legal capacity, you must be the patient's parent, guardian or other person having legal custody of the patient.
No they cannot.
No they cannot.